Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Dr Radhakrishnan Nagar(RK Nagar)-Know the constituency trend in past elections

There were 2,39,000 electors in the constituency in 2006 of whom 1,68,000 voted, which was a turnout of 70 percent. Sekar Babu of ADMK won with 84,000 votes followed by R Manohar of INC with 66,000 votes.

In 2011, there were 1,91,000 electors of which 1,42,000 voted, which was a turnout of 74 percent. P Vetrivel of the ADMK got 84,000 votes while Sekar Babu of the DMK(the same Sekar Babu of 2006) lost with 53,000 votes.

In June 2015, Vetrivel resigned to allow Jayalalitha to contest, after she had been acquitted in the Karnataka High Court. Previously, Jayalalitha had been disqualified as MLA of Srirangam due to conviction in the trial court. In the bye-election, out of 2,43,000 electors, 1,81,000 voted for a turnout of 74 percent. Jayalalithaa obtained 1,60,000 votes with Mahendran of CPI getting 10,000 votes. Independent candidate Traffic Ramaswamy got 4600 votes.

In 2016, there were 2,55,000 electors of which 1,74,000 voted, which was a turnout of 68 percent. J Jayalalithaa got 97,000 votes while Simla Muthuchozhan of DMK got 58,000 votes.